Legal Landmarks

1919           Sex Disqualification (Removal) Act given royal assent, enabling women to qualify as solicitors for the  first time.

1922           Carrie Morrison becomes the first woman to qualify as a solicitor.

1923           Carrie Morrison and others forms the beginnings of an association for women solicitors.

1969           Original association formally changes its name to ‘The 1919 Club – The Association of Women Solicitors’ and later simply ‘The Association of Women Solicitors’.

1992           Number of women solicitors increased sufficiently for a London branch to be created. First meeting of the London branch takes place at the Lansdowne Club in Mayfair.

2013           Law Society sets up its own women lawyers group and the national AWS is disbanded save for two branches, the London branch and the Manchester branch.

2015           AWS (London) successfully nominates first honorary QC (Camilla Palmer of Yess Law).

2016          AWS (London) successfully nominates second honorary QC (Sara Chandler of London South Bank University).

2017         AWS (London) successfully nominates third honorary  QC ( Janet Legrand of DLA Piper)


AWSL Chairwomen

1994       Alison Parkinson

1995       Anthea Grainger

1996       Karen Brockman

1997      Angela Morgan

1998      Valerie Roberts

1999      Sue Offen (Pape)

2000      Faith Mark

2001      Elizabeth Cruickshank

2002      Fiona Muxlow

2003      Fiona Fitzgerald

2004      Dawn Dixon

2005      Sarah Nurcombe

2006     Lorna Valcin

2007     Saadia Saddiqui

2008      Joy van Cooten

2009      Penny Mackinder

2010      Danusia Brzezina

2011      Linda Davies

2012      Darlene Waithe

2013      Nicola Wainwright

2014      Margaret Hatwood

2015      Coral Hill

2016      Jessica Standley

2017      Angela Hogan

2018      Gillian Fielden

2019      Amy Wedgwood

2020      Virginia Cannon


This list is accurate so far as the AWSL Committee has been able to establish, but if you have any corrections, please do let us know at